Unborn

What was born must die. Only the unborn is deathless. Find what is it that never sleeps and never wakes, and whose pale reflection is our sense of ‘I’.–Nisargadatta Maharaj

My koan for the day, month, year. How can one understand or find the unborn? My best understanding at this point is, by staying with the sense of ‘I’-ness as closely as possible during our confused, contradictory days. Staying with it until its illusory power dissipates completely and the light of being shines through.

2 thoughts on “Unborn

  1. I am reminded of something I read many years ago about lucid dreaming–that if one is having a nightmare, instead of running away, we can turn and embrace the “monster’ at which point it will disappear and the dreamer will be left with a complete feeling of well-being……is this not what the self is, what our various selves are? Little monsters that chase us hither and yon, goading us to action after action after action…..?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you’re absolutely right; mechanical monsters! It is a real challenge to look at myself and the world non-judgementally and with compassion. Thanks for the metaphor and also for stopping by my blog. I hope to continue the conversation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

